Unit Design - unit property sheet

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

new property trnValidTargets and changed texxting on trnInValidTargets

trnInValidTargets; //(this is higher prior than validTargets setting)if set than these units can not be targeted by this unit's normal attack (eg. bombers can not hit buildings with default attacks - they will have ability for that)
trnValidTargets; //if set than these units can be targeted by this unit's normal attack ANND in case of effect affect definitino the targeted units by the effects (that sets modifier rel on them)


use valid target setting on Affecting Effects (prop changers) so set the targetable units (instead of using M_ category settings)

importants M_ category settings will be removed in a month - so every modder please remove all usage of M_ categories!

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

ok updated texting
trnInValidTargets; //(this is higher prior than validTargets setting) if set than these units can not be targeted by this unit's normal attack (eg. bombers can not hit buildings with default attacks - they will have ability for that) AND in case of effect affect definition the non-targeted units by the effects (that sets modifier rel on all other "non-technology" units)
trnValidTargets; //if set than these units can be targeted by this unit's normal attack ANND in case of effect affect definitino the targeted units by the effects (that sets modifier rel on them)


and from now both list can be used on both things
- setting normal attack targets for units
- setting property changer effect valid targets

first prior is trnValidTargets, (so M_ALL can be set easily using this by simply setting TC unit in it and letting affect all others - aat least in AOF it was set to M_ALL)
if not set than trnInValidTargets are checked
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

also please make one or two at first and test it - i might have made some bugs in these features. (do not migrate all at once)
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

Stratego (dev) wrote: Sun Nov 22, 2020 1:09 pm ok updated texting
trnInValidTargets; //(this is higher prior than validTargets setting) if set than these units can not be targeted by this unit's normal attack (eg. bombers can not hit buildings with default attacks - they will have ability for that) AND in case of effect affect definition the non-targeted units by the effects (that sets modifier rel on all other "non-technology" units)
trnValidTargets; //if set than these units can be targeted by this unit's normal attack ANND in case of effect affect definitino the targeted units by the effects (that sets modifier rel on them)


and from now both list can be used on both things
- setting normal attack targets for units
- setting property changer effect valid targets

first prior is trnValidTargets, (so M_ALL can be set easily using this by simply setting TC unit in it and letting affect all others - aat least in AOF it was set to M_ALL)
if not set than trnInValidTargets are checked
ok it took me sometime of debugig what is wrong in code but came out i forgot to check if the effect-affect has the "trnSpecUnitActions":["IS_EFFECT_AFFECT"] set.

it works only for property changers - i hope i am right and only property changers can be such.

DONT forget to set all effect affects to be IS_EFFECT_AFFECT and all property changer techs to set TECH_IS_PROP_CHANGER ! it will not work othervise!
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

from now we need to signal effect affect jsons by specuniatcion: IS_EFFECT_AFFECT
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

texting polished
trnInValidTargets; //(this is higher prior than validTargets setting) if set than these units can not be targeted by this unit's normal attack (eg. bombers can not hit buildings with default attacks - they will have ability for that) AND in case of IS_EFFECT_AFFECT or TECH_IS_PROP_CHANGER definition the non-targeted units by the effects (that sets modifier rel on all other "non-technology" units)
trnValidTargets; //if set than these units can be targeted by this unit's normal attack AND in case of IS_EFFECT_AFFECT or TECH_IS_PROP_CHANGER the targeted units by the effects (that sets modifier rel on them)
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

some deifnietion for these (old) properties:
trnCanCarryThese; // this unit can carry these units (do not set trnCanNotCarryThese if you use this) - you can set two fields - "unitTypes": list of unit "type"-s and/or "categories": list of categories
trnCanNotCarryThese; // this unit can NOT carry these units (do not set trnCanCarryThese if you use this) - you can set two fields - "unitTypes": list of unit "type"-s and/or "categories": list of categories
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

urlImage; // generally a wikipedia image link if given than CDATA type html display for unit statsheet to show image. (optionally set only on base unit, all tranformations and upgrades will get it automatically)
urlDoc; // generally a wikipedia webpage link if set then wikipedia link is attached (optionally set only on base unit, all tranformations and upgrades will get it automatically)


these are existing properties but were missing from this help post.
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

new property:
trnDetectedStealthUnits; //if set than only these units can be seen by this stealth seeing unit (format to set is the same as how trnvalidTargets work)
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

the long deprecated "trnCanNotCarryMe" setting will be removed soon, so please check your assets if they are used and
a) remove them
b) if there is too many than email me to figure out how to mass remove them

you need to use the "new" trnCanCarryThese and trnCanNotCarryThese options
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

description changed to DEPRECATED
trnModifiers; //DEPRECATED(use trnValidTargets and trnInValidTargets on tech instead) - "type"-s (TECH) that modifies its properties
so please check your assets and
a) remove them
b) if there is too many than email me to figure out how to mass remove them

you need to use the "new" trnValidTargets and trnInValidTargets options

in a few months it will be removed - so not to be used anymore.
User avatar
L4cus
Posts: 2358
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 7:51 pm
Location: Perú

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by L4cus »

Stratego (dev) wrote: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:42 pm the long deprecated "trnCanNotCarryMe" setting will be removed soon, so please check your assets if they are used and
a) remove them
b) if there is too many than email me to figure out how to mass remove them

you need to use the "new" trnCanCarryThese and trnCanNotCarryThese options
Using double commander is easy to do...there is an option to search and change what u write
Extra ecclesiam nulla salus...
AOD, a new variant...
viewforum.php?f=230
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

ok, however i use notepad ++ for that
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

new line shown un unit stats:
remainingMovement //in this turn how many movements left (use only in EFFECT_AFFECT jsons! no in TECH or UNIT jsons).

this one only to be usedin EFFECT_AFFECT jsons! (not in techs or unit jsons)
User avatar
makazuwr32
Posts: 7830
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:29 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by makazuwr32 »

Stratego (dev) wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:13 pm new line shown un unit stats:
remainingMovement //in this turn how many movements left (use only in EFFECT_AFFECT jsons! no in TECH or UNIT jsons).

this one only to be usedin EFFECT_AFFECT jsons! (not in techs or unit jsons)
How to use it?
makazuwr32 wrote: Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:54 amWhen you ask to change something argument why...
Put some numbers, compare to what other races have and so on...
© by Makazuwr32™.
AoF Dev Co-Leader
Image
User avatar
Endru1241
Posts: 2717
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:43 am
Location: Poland

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Endru1241 »

makazuwr32 wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 7:20 pm
Stratego (dev) wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:13 pm new line shown un unit stats:
remainingMovement //in this turn how many movements left (use only in EFFECT_AFFECT jsons! no in TECH or UNIT jsons).

this one only to be usedin EFFECT_AFFECT jsons! (not in techs or unit jsons)
How to use it?
Add it as another property in json defined by unitActionID, that is applied in instant or repeating effects.
Or in one defined by unitActionIDforCaster.
Age of Strategy design leader
User avatar
makazuwr32
Posts: 7830
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:29 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by makazuwr32 »

I just do not understand for what could it be used.
Need some examples.
makazuwr32 wrote: Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:54 amWhen you ask to change something argument why...
Put some numbers, compare to what other races have and so on...
© by Makazuwr32™.
AoF Dev Co-Leader
Image
User avatar
Endru1241
Posts: 2717
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:43 am
Location: Poland

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Endru1241 »

The main reason for adding it was to make a way for movement decrease to be decreased by trnActionUnitIDForCaster.
In AoS there is Boarding Hooks ability, which decreases resistance and locks in place targeted enemy ship for 1 turn.
For it to be used as boarding bonus and not purely debuff - caster unit should be locked in place too, but there is no way to affect just target and caster ( trnActionUnitIDForCaster applies parameter changes once, without any timeout, no matter which effect behaviour its used on).
RemainingMovement decrese allows this effect to remove movement of caster ship in this turn.
Age of Strategy design leader
User avatar
makazuwr32
Posts: 7830
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:29 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by makazuwr32 »

Thanks for info.

If i understand correctly this parameter used for boarding ability to decrease speed to 0 for caster.
makazuwr32 wrote: Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:54 amWhen you ask to change something argument why...
Put some numbers, compare to what other races have and so on...
© by Makazuwr32™.
AoF Dev Co-Leader
Image
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

trnModifiers; //DEPRECATED(use trnValidTargets and trnInValidTargets on tech instead) - "type"-s (TECH) that modifies its properties
i must remind this to everyone as it will get soon be removed and packs will get an error if the "trnModifiers" are filled directly.
(i still see settings in AOF AOD AOA - others seems clean )
User avatar
L4cus
Posts: 2358
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 7:51 pm
Location: Perú

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by L4cus »

already removed thanks for making me remember
Extra ecclesiam nulla salus...
AOD, a new variant...
viewforum.php?f=230
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

I am working on the "on-demand" unit load version in all alternatives.
for that these tags are now only used from specunitactions so these Units json tags are obsolete from now:

1. "isFactoryThatNotAffectsFactoryLimits" -> use spec IS_FACTORY_NOT_COUNTED
2. "buildableSubType" eg. TECH_LEVEL_UP -> use spec TECH_LEVEL_UP instead
3. "isOccupiableBuilding" -> use spec IS_TC or IS_OCCUPIABLE instead
4. "isFunModeBuildable" -> use spec IS_FUN_UNIT
5. "grantorShopItems" -> use the new unit-list option in shoplist.json
6. "isStealthUnit" -> use spec STEALTH_UNIT or STEALTH_ONLY_UNIT
7. "trnRequires" + "trnRevokerTechs" + "upgradeAncestor": all these are to be set in the new unit_relations.txt

Please every modder post here if
a) ready with updating these
b) asks me to help making it in their pack.
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

added a new item in prev. post.
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

+1 flag in post above
6. "isStealthUnit"
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

+ the unit realtions things in that post updated.
+ also updated all in first post in this topic being as obsolete.
User avatar
Endru1241
Posts: 2717
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:43 am
Location: Poland

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Endru1241 »

Stratego (dev) wrote: Tue Jan 04, 2022 8:15 pm 1. "isFactoryThatNotAffectsFactoryLimits" -> use spec IS_FACTORY_NOT_COUNTED
What about megas - should they have IS_FACTORY_NOT_COUNTED, IS_FACTORY_COUNTED_AS_MEGA or both?
Age of Strategy design leader
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

that would be ambivalent:

IS_FACTORY_NOT_COUNTED means: not normal factory counted and not mega counted either.
IS_FACTORY_COUNTED_AS_MEGA will be counted as mega.

dont seet both on one unit.
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

reminder:

Code: Select all

 "rndProd":{                  // !!! OBSOLETE!!!! use the file_relations.json file !!! 
the new way:
viewtopic.php?f=215&t=12132 point 4.
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 15741
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Stratego (dev) »

new transform 2 is able to set - but not for ABILITY buttons! - only internal transform settings

trnTransformTo1; // primary target type to transform to: use for normal transform abilities/buttons
trnTransformTo2; // secondary target type to transform to: do not use for normal transform abilities, only for effect based transforms like "turn to this type of zombie"
Midonik
Posts: 5325
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Unit Design - unit property sheet

Post by Midonik »

Um, what if Im using trnTransformTo2 on a unit with 2 different transform options? So with 3 forms, like the tick tank in AoG
Support new AoS variant, Age of Galaxy: http://ageofstrategy.net/viewforum.php? ... 608408ebc8
All help will be welcome.
Post Reply

Return to “Unit Design”