Push, Dodge and Swap Mechanics

TntAttack

Push, Dodge and Swap Mechanics

Post by TntAttack »

Note: Underline and Italics are placed where I felt like I went too off-topic and into "fantasy" territory, which might affect the original idea. Ignore it if you disagree.

Push Mechanic

Certain units will have the ability to "push" an enemy unit back one tile.

Dodge Mechanic

Certain units (fast and agile) will have the ability to dodge an enemy attack by moving 1 tile away in any direction.

Swap Mechanic

All moveable units will be able to swap their positions with another unit provided they have enough movement.

Concept from a game design perspective (I'm not a game designer, just my personal thoughts)

War inaccurately is a complex series of aggressive actions that manifest as violence. Combat is supposed to feel impactful, punch after punch, gasping for breathing room as you wait patiently for an opening. I don't see this in the game. As it stands, the game is perfectly fine, its simplicity is both its strength and its weakness.

The push mechanic will allow players to encounter more dynamic battles specifically on a more unit-to-unit level (the level the game is structured around, infantry squads taking towns). Instead of walking troops up like chess, and fighting like Conkers (see below) the ability to push a certain unit off their terrain or building is instrumental in developing combat to feel impactful and responsive (that is, you hit something, you should both see and feel its effects).

Next is the dodge mechanic. Currently consists of [probability of direct attack=enemy unit speed * 10% ]. The mechanic isn't bad, but there is room for improvement. Firstly, the range of a unit's attack is incredibly important. Therefore, as the unit fires further, its chances of missing should increase. But that idea is too tedious and much too complex.

Hence I propose [attack damage=(baseDamage+bonus)*(attackRange*5%)] for attackers.