Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Suggestions about the gameplay, the controls, buttons and so on.
Post Reply
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 8050
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Apr 12, 2019 7:37 am

I ww2 version is is very much needed. but i also faced the problem in AOS/AOF:
hard to find the units i want to pproduce as we have very many unit types.

so i thought i would inherit the mapeditor "category" filter buttons that are currently:
- "swimming units"
- "melee units"
- "ranged units"
- "buildings"

with some modification, i suggest a json configurable buttoning where you can set a category name to display under a given button image and texting.

and my first suggestion in games are
AOF
- u_ships
- u_flyings
- u_melee
- u_archers
- u_buildings
- u_others (all others that are not fit to previously chosen categories)

AOS
- u_ships
- u_melee
- u_archers
- u_buildings
- u_others (all others that are not fit to previously chosen categories)

AOW
- u_planes
- u_ships
- u_infantry
- u_vehicle_AT
- u_vehicle_AA
- u_vehicle_Artillery
- u_buildings
- u_others (all others that are not fit to previously chosen categories)

(if a unit is in more than one category than will be displayed in the first - or should be in both?)

Midonik
Posts: 3134
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Post by Midonik » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:25 am

Well I guess that kinda helps with mass amount of units producable.
I vote for both, to avoid confusion.
Support new AoS variant, Age of Galaxy,its sci-fi themed: http://www.androidutils.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=135
All help will be welcome.

Fielderan Crown's Great Hetman
http://www.androidutils.com/forum/viewt ... =66&t=4729

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 8050
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:06 pm

both? what do u mean? (this is one suggestion)

Midonik
Posts: 3134
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Post by Midonik » Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:27 pm

Refered to the:
(if a unit is in more than one category than will be displayed in the first - or should be in both?)
Support new AoS variant, Age of Galaxy,its sci-fi themed: http://www.androidutils.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=135
All help will be welcome.

Fielderan Crown's Great Hetman
http://www.androidutils.com/forum/viewt ... =66&t=4729

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 8050
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:32 pm

oh, sorry, yes.
ok.

User avatar
makazuwr32
Posts: 3851
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:29 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Post by makazuwr32 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 1:45 pm

For aof i suggest to add 3 more categories in that:
Casters
Cavalry
Throwers

At least.
Specifically for not so genious persons
makazuwr32 wrote:
Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:24 am
IT IS ALWAYS EASIER TO CORRECT EXISTING THINGS THAN TO MAKE SOMETHING NEW FROM SCRAP. © by Makazuwr32™.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 8050
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:36 pm

good!

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 8050
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:59 pm

only problem is we have limited space - in mapeditor i see there is only 4-5 space for such button-images.
a) shall i make a grid of them? 2x4 grid?
b) or shall i make multilevel version somehow?
c) or simply a vertically scrollable button column?

Midonik
Posts: 3134
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Post by Midonik » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:37 pm

I guess simple scrool button is good? I think you can just chose easiest to code option.
Support new AoS variant, Age of Galaxy,its sci-fi themed: http://www.androidutils.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=135
All help will be welcome.

Fielderan Crown's Great Hetman
http://www.androidutils.com/forum/viewt ... =66&t=4729

User avatar
makazuwr32
Posts: 3851
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:29 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Unit category filter buttons in production chooser

Post by makazuwr32 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 6:38 pm

i would prefer single button that is toggable and will cycle through all variants. Like in mapeditor where you able to choose by clicking shield racial units.
Specifically for not so genious persons
makazuwr32 wrote:
Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:24 am
IT IS ALWAYS EASIER TO CORRECT EXISTING THINGS THAN TO MAKE SOMETHING NEW FROM SCRAP. © by Makazuwr32™.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay & UI”