On archery, precision and walls - OUTDATED

Alexander82

On archery, precision and walls - OUTDATED

Post by Alexander82 »

Since I started playing I've been bothered by a few things about how ranged weapons works

Ranged weapons can freely hit across walls and mountains making some walls useless if not dangerous without the chance to pass through (If I am human and I build walls my melee units inside are targets for every enemy archer and ranged units from the outside are free to hit my units and are protected by my own walls from my melee units' attacks).

The other thing that bothered me is the fact that elves should be the best at archery but not in the way they should. We have put in techs to increase elven minimum damage and that will probably finally make them the best archers but the real thing that should is one: accuracy.

If anyone has aver used a bow in its life will know that using a bow needs 2 main things: Accuracy and Strength

We have been taught by many games that bows rely on dexterity alone but that is false. To tend a bow you need a lot of strength and a bow that is hard to tend (and thus requires more strength) can hit farther targets.

What should then make elves the best at hitting, provided the fact that they are definitely not as physically string as an orc or a dwarf?

The answer is accuracy. You can shoot as far as you want but to hit a very far target you need to be extremely accurate.

So my proposal is to give all ranged a progressive loss in precision with range that might be increased by the presence of walls in the way.

Units like elven archers would be less affected by that effect and might be 100% accurate in attack range -1 while other units might have a more sensible drop in accuracy from attack range -2 or -3 (e.g. uruk archers are strong and can shot very far and hard but might have a more drastical loss of precision than elven archers)