Help with triggers (creating a skirmish map).

Put here any discussion that does not fit to the specific forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
phoenixffyrnig
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 1:07 pm
Location: It changes, frequently.

Help with triggers (creating a skirmish map).

Post by phoenixffyrnig » Sun Apr 04, 2021 11:29 am

Right, I am utterly baffled. I have asked a couple of people before now, but I don't think I knew enough to explain properly what I meant - now I have achieved the level of knowledge where I am now aware of my ignorance, so here is precisely what I want.

I have made a 4 player map with fixed TCs as a skirmish map in ME. I cannot change the starting units in Map Setup, nor in game launch when I run it as a test, and it defaults me to one starting worker.

I wish to have the Many Units start - 2 workers, 2 light horse - in each players starting TC. I was recommended to try triggers, and I looked at them, and then my brain melted and dribbled out my ears!

How do I trigger it so that everyone starts with those 4 units? I think I have my head straight with the things like Nr1, Nr2, Player Nr, co-ordinates etc, but what conditions and effects do I want?
Presumably the condition is to set the cond: Player1's turn Nr1 has started to the desired settings....?
What effect would then let me place the desired units in the starting TCs?

Cheers guys
I also play an RTS game called Life 8-)
And I also like drinking beer! :D

tamtam12345
Posts: 710
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:41 am

Re: Help with triggers (creating a skirmish map).

Post by tamtam12345 » Sun Apr 04, 2021 4:59 pm

Not difficult. Tried once today.
Don't wanna put pictures here because maximum Attachments size in forum is too small. Just explain it by words.

1. Put a a Town, two workers(W1&W2) & light cavalry(L1&L2) into the map draft.
(Example:Put Town in area X/Y -> 1/1, W1 -> 2/2, W2 -> 2/3, L1 -> 2/4, L2 -> 2/5)

2. Open trigger editor. Open a new trigger file (trigger 1).
Condition: Obj (L2) in Area (2/5) //so it triggered instantly when you open the map
Eff: Change Obj (W1) position (2/2) to Area XY (1/1) //put worker into town
Eff: Change Obj (W2) position (2/3) to Area XY (1/1) //put worker into town
Eff: Change Obj (L1) position (2/4) to Area XY (1/1) //put light cav into town
Eff: Change Obj (L2) position (2/5) to Area XY (1/1) //put light cav into town
Eff: Objs enable in Area
(PLAYER 1)(-No Units-)(Area1/1)(to1/1) //All units within that area enabled(I use this effect to offset movement by triggers that set above )

3. Repeat 1-2 with different colour & position.

User avatar
phoenixffyrnig
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 1:07 pm
Location: It changes, frequently.

Re: Help with triggers (creating a skirmish map).

Post by phoenixffyrnig » Sun Apr 04, 2021 8:01 pm

Nice, thankyou. I will try this when sober :)
I also play an RTS game called Life 8-)
And I also like drinking beer! :D

User avatar
phoenixffyrnig
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 1:07 pm
Location: It changes, frequently.

Re: Help with triggers (creating a skirmish map).

Post by phoenixffyrnig » Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:27 pm

Sorry @tamtam12345, follow up question...

It's all making sense to me, thankyou, but what would happen if at a later stage in the game a player by chance moved the unit I used for the cond:object in area into the same square I used?

Are triggers one time only by default?
I also play an RTS game called Life 8-)
And I also like drinking beer! :D

tamtam12345
Posts: 710
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:41 am

Re: Help with triggers (creating a skirmish map).

Post by tamtam12345 » Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:45 pm

phoenixffyrnig wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:27 pm
Sorry tamtam12345, follow up question...

It's all making sense to me, thankyou, but what would happen if at a later stage in the game a player by chance moved the unit I used for the cond:object in area into the same square I used?

Are triggers one time only by default?
These triggers only run once only(Select "Run once" ).
If you select "Looping" in the trigger, what you described above will be happened. :)

User avatar
phoenixffyrnig
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 1:07 pm
Location: It changes, frequently.

Re: Help with triggers (creating a skirmish map).

Post by phoenixffyrnig » Mon Apr 05, 2021 1:50 pm

Nice nice Nice, thanks Tamtam, I got it working. You've saved me so much pain there, it was mashing my head!

All the triggering worked, just testing it now to see if the map does what I wanted it to do.
I also play an RTS game called Life 8-)
And I also like drinking beer! :D

Post Reply

Return to “Other discussions about the game”